archibion.blogg.se

Jriver media center linux mint
Jriver media center linux mint












jriver media center linux mint
  1. #Jriver media center linux mint install#
  2. #Jriver media center linux mint full#
  3. #Jriver media center linux mint windows 10#
  4. #Jriver media center linux mint license#
  5. #Jriver media center linux mint free#

So my first step now is to choose an operating system - Windows would be the easy route as I'm intimately familiar with it, but the cheapskate in me doesn't want to pay $100 for a license and the nerd in me would like to give Linux a go. Now I know it's a bit over-spec for a HTPC/media player, but I figured a) I wanted it to be powerful enough to do any on-the-fly transcoding/sample rate conversion that I needed (more on this in a moment) and b) the more powerful it is now, the more years I can go before I have to replace it.

#Jriver media center linux mint free#

Apologies if this isn't the right thread, and feel free to move the post if so.Īfter years of wanting to move to a HTPC I finally took the plunge - I got the following (part Christmas gift, part bought myself) Maybe someone with direct experience in Kodi in a VM (other than than the OpenELEC template), could comment. Though I haven't tried it myself in a VM (I run Kodi in HTPCs attached to my tvs, and pull content from UnRaid), I can't see how Kodi would not work just like any other app (Again, assuming you passthrough a gpu etc). A quick browse for Kodi and VMs turns up a lot of old negative posts, but the common thread seems to be people not passing through dedicated hardware. If you're doing a Mint or Debian install, it would be installed just like a program. I'm not familiar with JRMC so I can't comment on whether Kodi would make playback easier or better than it, but I can say that Kodi has a pretty user friendly gui. If that is a mandatory requirement, it probably won't be a good fit. Unfortunately, I don't believe Kodi has made any tremendous strides forward in db management. I don't really want to invest too much in learning Linux just now, so ease of use is big on my wish list to get started.

jriver media center linux mint

I'm leaning towards trying Mint - Cinnamon, or Debian Jessie 64-bit.

#Jriver media center linux mint install#

I assume I can just install KODI as a program or plugin in a Linux Virtual Machine install, which would allow me to install some other programs I use (MakeMKV and others). I may just use JRMC to manage the structure and hopefully KODI can make playback easier/better in some way. But, I am considering installing it to have another look. I haven't looked at KODI for a while, but it lacked in database management functionality I really use JRMC for. Note with Plex (as opposed to Kodi), you need a Plex Server as well as a Plex Client machine. Great interface, and I love how it can transcode on the fly so the same source file can be served to different devices without issue. +1 for Plex as well! Forked from XBMC (Kodi) a long time ago. Both have similar hardware requirements, while Mint has a slightly more Windows-esque feel to it. Now, after all that, to answer your original question, Ubuntu or Linux Mint are both decent (and after a quick look at the JRiver forums, both are supported).

#Jriver media center linux mint full#

If you would rather build your own install from scratch, you could either go with KodiBuntu, or even a full Ubuntu install with Kodi on top. They use a small purpose-built Linux install and should have you up and running in no time.

jriver media center linux mint

If you haven't, for quick and easy, you could try it using the pre-existing VM template for LibreELEC/OpenELEC (Can't remember which it is). I know you stated you plan on using JRiver Media Center as your main media player/interface, but have you looked at Kodi? I will install JRiver Media Center as my main media player/interface, and don't plan to use it for much else at first, but will eventually want to have a bit of a play to see what else I can do with Linux that I couldn't do easily last time I had a look.Īnyway, I'm looking for suggestions on an OS to use for my HTPC running as a VM on unRAID. I'm very used to Windows, so a decent GUI is a must for me for now. I've played a bit with Linux in the past, but things move fast, and I don't' have a good feel for what version on Linux I might want to start out with.

#Jriver media center linux mint windows 10#

I'm not in love with Windows 10 anyway, so I'm either going to go back to their last good OS (Windows 7), or, better yet, I want to move to using Linux.

jriver media center linux mint

I'm fed up with Windows 10 and its inability to allow me to schedule downloads (updates) during the time where I don't get charged for data use on my shitty satellite internet. I couldn't figure which board was best for posting this question, so I figured I'd get good response here.














Jriver media center linux mint